This is the End

You know it’s been a while since you’ve posted a blog update when you’re not quite sure what your username and password are!

Anyway, I figured that I should come back and put a proper ending to this thing.  I only ever started this blog and halfway maintained it because it was something that was expected of me as a “racer”.  Sponsors who gave me support thoroughly enjoy when their athletes provide insightful training tips, stories of adventure, and race recaps sharing how it all “went down”.  For me, I was lucky to generate one semi-coherent race report after an event.  I was never comfortable or good at taking the time to write something up.  I’m simply too busy to sit down and spend time remembering events so that I can type them into cyberspace.

For anyone who ever read anything I wrote, “Thanks” for tuning in.  Thanks for the support and the notes of encouragement along the way.  If I were to identify a goal that I have in my life, it is to hopefully inspire more people to ride bikes more often.  The bicycle is to me a panacea for mankind.  Stress relief, happiness, freedom, exercise, reduced congestion, pollution, etc.  All of these things are addressed by riding a bike.  It is that simple.  However, the infrastructure needed to facilitate riding a bicycle is not something that happens naturally.  It requires a lot of advocacy and behind the scenes efforts on the part of a lot of people.  Complete street standards, bicycle storage racks, bike lanes, Safe Routes to School for kids, and trail systems all require an enormous amount of work before you ever see them “on the ground”.  Personally, that is where my efforts have shifted.  My focus is now to make the place where I live better for all cyclists and pedestrians.  I am thankful for my time as a “racer” because I know that the experiences and relationships that were built have opened doors for me.  I wouldn’t be where I am if it weren’t for my time “racing”.  For that, I am eternally grateful!

So, with that. here it is……..The End.  Now, go ride your bike!

~ by ketchumgreg on June 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
