Apriluary powder on Abe’s

Trying to figure out what to do this weekend……..bike……ski……..bike…….ski?????   The weather was good for both.  However, when I looked back through my notes  (yes, I am anal enough to keep a log of my ski days – at least backcountry ones – throughout the season) and realized that I hadn’t skied since March 7, I figured that I needed to embrace this cold wet spring, and it’s resulting deep wintery snowpack, and get out there and, well, get some!  So we did.

About every other year, we have this blast of late winter powder that shows up in April.  When that happens and you have a little luck on your side, you get to ski the main chute down Abe’s Chair….in cold smoke powder….on a blue bird day.  So, that’s exactly what we did.

It was a beautiful blue bird day.  We were in no hurry.  It was perfectly calm.

It was so nice in fact, that we sat right on the exposed summit and had lunch!  Then, we sent it!

It was good.  Really good!  I was really happy to remember how to ski too!

Now the only question is……what to do tomorrow?

~ by ketchumgreg on April 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
