5,000 miles

Things at home have been a little too busy lately and the winter weather has been horrible (read:  no new snow), so I decided to take some drastic measures.  I knew that if I left, it would start snowing again (and it did).  I wanted to go somewhere new that was also warm, so I did.  In fact, I made an official jump of seasons and headed south of the equator to a beautiful little town in Argentina by the name of San Martin de los Andes.  It took nearly 40 hours of travel to cover the 5000+ miles, but I made it.

Hello San Martin de los Andes!

It’s been a whirlwind two days here so far consisting of four rides, a press conference for Vallescondido and their upcoming 24 Hr MTB race, a skills clinic, and two fabulous dinners consisting of copious amounts of red meat, red wine, and no less than 10-15 friends each night that have lasted past midnight.

This evening has consisted of “dialing in” the bikes, packing our supplies, attending a race meeting, and going to bed (by 10 p.m. even!) all in preparation for the start of the Tour de la Patagonia at 9 a.m. tomorrow morning.  The race format is a 3 day stage race, with each stage being roughly 4-6 hours in length.  I’m not expecting to feel very fast since this is the first time I’ve been on a bike since November, but it will absolutely be an unforgettable experience in an unbelievably beautiful landscape.  Wish me luck!

 

Cheers

 

~ by ketchumgreg on February 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
