Happy New Year

I hope everyone had a safe & happy New Year’s evening.  Personally, I was fortunate enough to welcome the arrival of a new year in the Sawtooth Mountains of Idaho @ 8,000 ft.  It was a last minute trip that came off as one of the best trips I’ve been on.  In early December, I noticed that the Bench Hut was not reserved for the New Year’s weekend.  In fact, there was only one group booked in there for the season prior to the New Year’s weekend.  With the winter that we’re having so far (read:  deep & stable snowpack), the decision to “pull the trigger” was an easy one.

We headed in on Thursday morning with cold temps (subzero) in the valley and a forecast calling for lows of 20-30 below zero for the next few days.  We set out with our packs & sleds loaded heavy and proceeded to slowly climb in and up the apron of the Sawtooth range for the Bench Hut, which lies at @ 8,000 ft. of elevation just below the alpine proper terrain of the Sawtooths.

We spent the next three days skiing, eating, laughing, and sleeping; which just may be my favorite four winter activities.  All in all, it was an incredibly fun trip in an incredibly beautiful place.

Here’s a video clip that I put together with some highlights of the weekend:

Now, it’s back to reality.  Time to start working on a race schedule, finalizing sponsor agreements, working on permits for XC Nationals, and a trails webpage for the area.

Cheers!

~ by ketchumgreg on January 3, 2011.

2 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. Holy Shit – You think Spesh might hook your lady friend up with a woven fiber SS for this action? Check out the news flash:
    (Tucson, Ariz.) Jan. 11, 2011. . . . Participants in the single speed category at the Whiskey Off Road could win a free trip to the 2011 Single Speed World Championships Aug. 27 in Ballyhoura, Ireland.

    Now that is a kind payout!

    I look forward to eavesdropping on your races this year, and maybe we’ll be at a few more of the same start lines. I’m gonna catch one of you Clubbers this year!
    Hey, would you mind dropping me an email, as I have a couple questions leading up to Puff ’11…and Butte…and Pierre’s! Take care, and Happy New Year from Jackson, -Hamilton

  2. Hey Hamilton-
    Thanks for dropping me a line! Yeah, that free SSWC entry is quite the “carrot” dangling out there. Still, I don’t think I’m heading down to AZ for the Whiskey this year. It’s just too far to drive for not enough riding. Probably going to the 18 Hrs of Fruita instead. Half the drive and twice the riding!
    I’ll see if I can pull your email out of this cyber-communication thread somehow, but if I’m unsuccessful, ping me at ketchumgreg@gmail.com.
    Look forward to seeing you out there as well this year. Butte, Pierre’s, PCP2P, CCP100, HC100, HC24Hr,…….all on the radar and somewhat hinging on whether I can get into the PCP2P.

    Cheers

    GM

Leave a Reply

 
