Transylvania

It’s official.  I’m heading to State College, PA to race in the Transylvania Stage Race next week.  The race is spread over 7 days and covers the most distance of any stage race in the U.S.  All I care about is that I get to ride my bike.  I look forward to distancing myself from outside distractions and being able to focus on “ride, recover, repeat” for 7 days in a row.

El Gato is certainly ready to go.  I actually  managed to squeeze in 3 rides last week and each one gave me a greater appreciation for the bike.  It’s smooth, quiet, simple, and incredibly fast.  Aesthetically, it is clean.  All of the genius that goes into it’s design is hidden and subtle.  It is understated.  It only grabs the eye of those who know.  It has that “oh so pure” feel and absolute silence that a single speed has.  It’s a feeling that I cannot fully describe.  The ability to stand on a climb and put a bit more power into the pedals and feel the bike accelerate back up to that optimal speed that you would never maintain on a geared bike is something special.  I hope to feel that next week.  I look forward to the pain.  I hope that I can embrace it because, when you can…….when you can accept the pain and push even harder, that’s when it gets good.  That’s when you’re dialed and you can ride fast.  Zipping by trees at 35 mph just inches away.  That brief realization of the chances you’re taking, only to block it out a second later because that momentary lapse in focus is all it takes to make that disaster a reality.  That’s racing!

Here’s a little press release from the race organization:   TSE Press Release

~ by ketchumgreg on May 23, 2010.

2 Responses to “Transylvania”

  1. Become friends with pain and you will never be alone.

  2. Wow…*that’s* what I want my bike to feel like. I have some work to do.

Leave a Reply

 
